To provide you with the best web experience, we use cookies and tracking technologies in accordance with our privacy policy.

More information

Gypsera-Eispaläste-Weg

Properties of the itinerarie

Difficulty : Very easy

Length : 4 km

Duration : 1.2 hours

Towers, grottos and palaces, just like a faraway land in a fairytale. Yet we are not in the East, but in Schwarzsee in the Fribourg Pre-Alps. This walk will transport both young and old to another world.

SwitzerlandMobility: route 786
Schwarzsee Gypsera - Eispaläste

The path that leads to the ice palaces starts on a gentle slope alongside the warm Sense, which flows into the
Schwarzsee to the north. The lapping of the river suddenly stops. The perfect prelude to what awaits winter ramblers at the end of this simple walk. Once there, you will scarcely believe your eyes: pure works of art appear, one after the other, in an area approximately 250 metres long and 50 metres wide. Dinosaurs, penguins, palm trees, fairytale characters and a pirate ship, some measuring up to 15 metres high and all made of ice!
The artist Karl Neuhaus created this fantastic, ephemeral world for the first time in the 1980s. For over 30 years, the “Tinguely of Ice” built grottos, igloos and ice palaces in the Schwarzsee valley every year. As soon as the thermometer dropped below zero, he would spray his wooden and scrap-metal structures with water and wait for nature to do its work. After the 2016/17 winter season, this seasoned cobbler decided, at the age of 80, that it was time to slow down. The ice palaces are now built by a team of three people, managed by Schwarzsee Tourismus.
The ice worlds are an unforgettable experience for young and old alike, and a major attraction on the trail starting in Gypsera, which is signposted when there is enough snow. This fantastic world is mystical even in the middle of the day, but truly magical at night, when everything is lit up with coloured lights.

Ascents: 30 m
Descents: 100 m

Properties of the itinerarie

Difficulty : Very easy

Length : 4 km

Duration : 1.2 hours

Download files

Report an error

More information

You may also be interested in

Afin de vous offrir la meilleure expérience web, nous utilisons des cookies et des technologies de suivi conformément à notre politique de confidentialité.

Plus d'info

Gypsera-Eispaläste-Weg

Propriétés de l'itinéraire

Difficulté : Facile

Longueur : 4 km

Durée : 1.2 heures

Des tours, des grottes et des palais comme dans un pays de contes de fées lointain. Nous ne sommes pas en Orient, mais à Schwarzsee dans les Préalpes fribourgeoises. Cette randonnée transporte petits et grands dans un autre monde.

La piste qui mène aux palais de glace suit d’abord en pente douce la Singine chaude qui forme l’affluent du Schwarzsee au nord. Le clapotis du fleuve vous apaisera et c’est une introduction parfaite à ce qui vous attend l’hiver à l’issue de cette randonnée. Vous en croirez à peine vos yeux : de pures œuvres d’art se succèdent sur environ 250 mètres de long et 50 mètres de large. Des dinosaures, des pingouins, des palmiers, des personnages de contes et un bateau de pirates, certains pouvant mesurer jusqu’à 15 mètres de haut, et le tout en glace !
L’artiste, Karl Neuhaus, a créé ce monde fantastique éphémère pour la première fois dans les années 80. Pendant plus de 30 ans, le « Tinguely des glaces » a érigé chaque année des grottes, des igloos et des palais de glace dans la vallée du Schwarzsee. Dès que le thermomètre descendait en-dessous de zéro, il arrosait ses structures en bois et en métal et laissait faire la nature. Après la saison d’hiver 2016/17, ce cordonnier chevronné a décidé à l’âge de 80 ans d’arrêter cette activité. Les palais de glace sont désormais réalisés par une équipe de 3 personnes sous la direction de Schwarzsee Tourismus.
Ces univers de glace, présents quand la neige le permet, sont une expérience inoubliable pour petits et grands, et sont la principale attraction de la randonnée au départ de Gypsera. Ce monde fantastique est mystique même en plein jour, mais c’est le soir que la magie opère lorsque que tout est illuminé par des lumières colorés.

Montée: 30 m
Descente: 100 m

Propriétés de l'itinéraire

Difficulté : Facile

Longueur : 4 km

Durée : 1.2 heures

Documents à télécharger

Signaler une erreur

Plus d'info

Cela pourrait aussi vous intéresser